Bonnie Raitt Tackles Gerry Rafferty & Bob Dylan In Latest Album, Slipstream

It has been seven years since the last album release from Bonnie Raitt. On April 10th, fans will be able to get their hands on Slipstream. The album is true to it’s name. It slips between folk, reggae, pop and rock & roll. Slipstream also marks the launch of Bonnie’s own label, Redwing Records.

Gerry Rafferty fans will recognize the first single off the album. It is a cover of “Right Down the Line,” the only Rafferty song to hit number one in the charts. Under Bonnie’s direction, the song gets a reggae tone and feel.

Two songs off Bob Dylan’s Time Out of Mind album are also featured on Slipstream. Bonnie’s treatment of “Million Miles” is a deep blues jam session that easily could have been the first single off the album. “Standing in the Doorway” has the same blue feel with western flairs in Bonnie’s guitar playing.

Slipstream Track Listing:

  1. Used To Rule The World
  2. Right Down The Line
  3. Million Miles
  4. You Can’t Fail Me Now
  5. Down To You
  6. Take My Love With You
  7. Not Cause I Wanted To
  8. Ain’t Gonna Let You Go
  9. Marriage Made in Hollywood
  10. Split Decision
  11. Standing in the Doorway
  12. God Only Knows

Bonnie Raitt’s Slipstream is available April 10th in stores, Amazon, and iTunes.

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.