Tanlines Debut With ‘Mixed Emotions’

Mixed Emotions, the debut album from Brooklyn-based production duo [lastfm]Tanlines[/lastfm], was almost called “;(” (pronounced, “winky-sad”). Thanks to someone’s fore-thinking, that title was nixed and this reviewer has been saved from using the phrase “winky-sad” more than once (wait, dammit…). Considering an emoticon as a the name of a record is not only off-putting, but a tell-tale sign of the irony decorating the music therein. Eric Emm and Jesse Cohen come from a background of guitar-based rock music and as [lastfm]Tanlines[/lastfm] concocted synth-based rock music, referencing both [lastfm]The Joy Division[/lastfm] and [lastfm]Blondie[/lastfm] at once.

[lastfm]Tanlines[/lastfm] orchestrate sounds not uncommon among the recent synth-pop-cum-guitar trend that the duo’s birthplace, Brookyln, has fostered over the past decade. “Green Grass” couples a driving rhythm with chants almost like early [lastfm]Peter Gabriel[/lastfm], the vocals otherwise never abandoning a thick monotone that encourages a certain kind of shuffle. “Real Life” employs West African vocal inflections (and a plethora of hand drums) much like [lastfm]Paul Simon[/lastfm] – and this generation’s [lastfm]Vampire Weekend[/lastfm] – has done so successfully in the past. So much of the aesthetic adopted by [lastfm]Tanlines[/lastfm] dates back to the 80′s and no matter what advances time has bestowed to musicians, Emm and Cohen don’t care. They want their Casio synths and Linn drums; away with those fancy VSTs and MPCs! Tanlines went for the vintage pop of their childhood, and have successfully recreated just that – 80′s pop music for the nostalgia heads.

[lastfm]Tanlines[/lastfm] – Mixed Emotions (True Panther)
Metacritic Score: 71
Buy: True Panther
Follow: Facebook | Twitter

Track list:
1. Brothers
2. All Of Me
3. Green Grass
4. Abby
5. yes Way
6. Not The Same
7. Lost Somewhere
8. Real Life
9. Rain Delay
10. Cactus
11. Nonesuch

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tanlines Debut With ‘Mixed Emotions’

  1. Pingback: Metacritic Music Monday: Stream This Week’s Hottest New Releases (3/19)

Comments are closed.