Herzog Bring Slacker-Rock To The Forefront On New Album “Cartoon Violence”

[lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Herzog[/lastfm]‘s new album Cartoon Violence is the bands first full-length LP since 2009’s, Search; the album that gained a slew of positive reviews by the likes of NME, Pitchfork, and NPR’s All Songs Considered. On Cartoon Violence, [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Herzog[/lastfm] builds on the elements that made Search great, and then some.

[lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Herzog[/lastfm]‘s new record really captures the essence and energy that is necessary to make a successful pop-rock album today. However, the band takes it a step further into the realm of what has been coined “Slacker Rock“, which can best be described as music that fuses catchy pop melodies with a little more groove and a lot more attitude than you’d expect from a pop-punk band.

While the band does carry over a ton of elements that fans loved about Search, it’s important to realize what a different album Cartoon Violence is. The slight shift in sound is mainly due to the fact that Search was primarily written by [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Herzog [/lastfm] front man [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Nick Tolar[/lastfm], while the bands more recent effort has been a completely collaborative effort, with heavy contributions from each band member.

Lyrical themes on Cartoon Violence touch on a number of subjects, some darker than what youd typically expect from [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Herzog[/lastfm], perhaps at least partially due to the inclusion of lyricist [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Tony Vorell[/lastfm]. Themes include feelings of loss, failed relationships, soldiers returning from war, and the contradictory aspects of human relationships; all with a touch of sarcasm that keeps the albums vibe so cheerful and upbeat that you might not be able to resist dancing wherever you are.

Check out a preview of the album below:

Another aspect of Cartoon Violence well worthy of praise is its diversity. The way that the album can open with the energy of a song like F*ck This Year, have the depth of a song like Rich People Ballad, and then go on to the southern sounds of a song like Dreaming Man II, all completely fluidly, really says something about how great the band is as a collective group of song writers. The album could never have had the same impact if not for the careful attention that was clearly paid to the writing and producing of the songs on Cartoon Violence; and that’s something to be very excited about for the future if you’re a fan of [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Herzog[/lastfm].

The complete track list for Cartoon Violence is as follows:

1. Fuck This Year
2. Rock And Roll Monster
3. You Clean Up Nice
4. Rich People Ballad
5. Dreaming Man II
6. Feedback
7. Your Son Is Not A Soldier
8. Shakespearean Actress
9. Alexander The Great

Pick up Cartoon Violence TODAY at iTunes.

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.