Bonobo Releases ‘Black Sands’ Remix Album, Feat. MachineDrum, FaltyDL, Lapalux, and More

Simon Green first released as [lastfm]Bonobo[/lastfm] in 1999; since then, he has grown from sophisticated trip hop beatsmith to sophisticated multi-instrumentalist bandleader songwriter. 2010’s Black Sands presented Green as an impressive force to reckon with to a new generation of hip hop/electronic fans. Fitting that a year later the critically acclaimed LP gets remixed by the best new producers out there – including Brainfeeder‘s new pick, [lastfm]Lapalux[/lastfm], the unstoppable Berlin-via-NYC [lastfm]MachineDrum[/lastfm], synth wizard [lastfm]Floating Points[/lastfm], legendary [lastfm]Mark Pritchard[/lastfm], and so on. The full track list reads like FACT Magazine‘s Best of 2011, and the songs themselves are diverse, exciting, and brilliant re-imaginings of Bonobo’s strongest material to date.

If you are unfamiliar with these names, the animated video (by Anthony Shepard) should clue you in the level of talent involved with Black Sands Remixed. The majority of producers involved released peerless full lengths this past year – FaltyDL’s You Stand Uncertain, MachineDrum’s Room(s), Blue Daisy’s The Sunday Gift – and their unique sound turns each original Bonobo song into an entirely new beast. Listen to MachineDrum’s soft footwork rework of “Eyesdown” above (and grab a free download of it here).

Lapalux sends “Prelude” into a watery heaven full of neck-snapping rhythms and lazy claps; Mike Slott bends vocals into ghostly sermons on “All In Time”; Floating Points bestows “Eyesdown” with his signature analog warmth and strut; Blue Daisy turns “Stay The Same” into something sinister with his signature cavernous sound.

Bonobo offers two new tracks for this release as well: “Ghost Ship” (originally featured on Ninja Tune’s XX Boxset) and “Brace Brace.” The former feels like an old trip hop tune turned up to eleven, with its bombastic claps and jazzy instrumentation; the latter has a stunning full band arrangement, featuring a horn section, guitar, glockenspiel, and skittering drums. Attention, Wes Anderson: Mr. Green is available to score your next flick.

[lastfm]Bonobo[/lastfm] – Black Sands Remixed (Ninja Tune)
Buy: iTunes | Ninja Shop

Track list:
01 – Prelude (Lapalux’s Finger On The Tape Remix)
02 – The Keeper (Banks Remix)
03 – Kiara (Cosmin TRG Remix)
04 – Eyesdown (Floating Points Remix)
05 – Eyesdown (ARP 101 Remix)
06 – Eyesdown (ft. Andrea Triana & DELS)
07 – All In Forms (FaltyDL Remix)
08 – Ghost Ship
09 – Stay The Same (Mark Pritchard Remix)
10 – Eyesdown (Machinedrum Remix)
11 – All In Forms (Mike Slott Remix)
12 – Stay The Same (Blue Daisy ‘Not Quite The Same’ Remix)
13 – Brace Brace
14 – Black Sands (Duke Dumont’s ‘Grains Of Sand’ Reconstruction Edit)

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.