Aretha Franklin Won’t Keep Fans Waiting For New Release, New Compilation Of Hits From 1980-1998 Out Now!

The incomparable [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Aretha Franklin[/lastfm] has returned once again with a collection of the very best songs from 1980-1998 that showcases Aretha’s diversity and growth as an artist in the golden years of her lengthy career; reminding the world one more time why she’s dubbed The Queen of Soul.

It’ll be hard to avoid the nostalgia from decades past when listening to songs from arguably one of the biggest pioneers of music, having sparked a number of movements in jazz, blues, r&b, gospel and of course, soul. The carefully selected 16 song set is actually a first for Aretha, being the first U.S. release to document the songs that highlighted her tenure at Arista.

Being that Aretha’s new compilation does not follow the typical format of a greatest hits record, the choice not to make the record career spanning really lets you focus in on the highlights from what has become known as the third phase of her career. This phase of nearly two decades followed her massive success with Atlantic as well as the jazzier years she spent with Columbia Records.

Click play below to check out a classic live performance of United Together from 1980 that really captures the essence of Knew You Were Waiting

The range of hits included is well thought out, kicking off with her smash hit 1980 label debut United Together all the way to the upbeat R&B piece from 1998, A Rose Is Still A Rose. The best thing about Knew You Were Waiting is the feeling that these songs still hold today, which will bring long time fans back to a simpler time when these unforgettable hits reigned at the top of the charts, and also provides a perfect way for the next generation to experience one of the greatest artists of our time.

The track list for Knew You Were Waiting is as follows:

  1. United Together
  2. Love All the Hurt Away [Duet with [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]George Benson[/lastfm]]
  3. Jump to It
  4. Get it Right
  5. Freeway of Love
  6. Who’s Zoomin’ Who
  7. Sister’s Are Doin’ It For Themselves [Duet with [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]The Eurythmics[/lastfm]]
  8. Another Night
  9. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
  10. Jimmy Lee
  11. I Knew You Were Waiting (For Me) [Duet with [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]George Michael[/lastfm]]
  12. Through the Storm [Duet with [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Elton John[/lastfm]]
  13. It Isn’t, It Wasn’t, It Ain’t Never Gonna Be [Duet with [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Whitney Houston[/lastfm]]
  14. Ever Changing Times [Duet with [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Michael McDonald[/lastfm]]
  15. Willing to Forgive
  16. A Rose is Still a Rose

Knew You Were Waiting: The Best Of Aretha Franklin 1980-1998 is available now at Amazon & Legacy Recordings Official Store!

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.