Rodrigo y Gabriela Spice Things Up With 13-Piece Cuban Orchestra On Area 52

For an act like [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Rodrigo y Gabriela[/lastfm] that has successfully created their own unique niche within the music world, it’s hard to imagine a change in the formula that bred the remarkable music that has continuously kept fans intrigued for over a decade. But on Area 52, the duo treats fans with fresh renditions of select songs from their past two studio albums – but with the addition of magnificent accompaniment by a renowned 13-piece Cuban Orchestra.

Since their inception in 2000, the duo of Rodrigo Sánchez and Gabriela Quintero have released four studio albums and become widely recognized for their signature style that fuses acoustic folk with colorful Latin guitar licks. Their unmatched style has been embraced by fans since their first album and by even wider audiences with each release. But as they continue to progress and become more successful, the demand and desire for a twist in the mix has become imminent.

In order to stay relevant in today’s music scene, an artist like this must not only be true to themselves, but also continuously spice things up a bit to keep their signature sound fresh. The ability to make those significant changes in direction that make sense for what the band is at its core is exactly what Rodrigo y Gabriela did on Area 52 by recruiting esteemed 13-Piece Cuban orchestra [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]C.U.B.A.[/lastfm] to lend a hand.

Check out the trailer for Area 52 by clicking play below: 

The concept is perhaps the most ambitious thing that the duo has done to date and the result is just as great. Whether you’re a long time fan or hearing [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Rodrigo y Gabriela[/lastfm] for the first time on Area 52, you’ll be absolutely floored by the plethora of sounds on the record. The way in which the band was able to bring sheer originality and new life out of old songs songs by re-exploring and deconstructing them, only to re-construct them with the orchestra is what makes the album extremely special and a clear standout when analyzed by critics.

Click play below to check out the official music video for the original version of Tamacun

Skeptics who fear that the addition of [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]C.U.B.A.[/lastfm] could make a mockery of the bands greatest work have absolutely nothing to fear. Area 52 adds a ton of flavor to the bands essence and sound that could never have even been imagined when first listening to the original versions of Tamacun and Hanuman. The addition of the orchestra compliments the bands already incredible sound in such a flawless fashion that makes every song feel so fresh. It’s no wonder why the duo chose [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]C.U.B.A.[/lastfm] because when it all comes together with the help of masterful development and production, the unique perspective to the original tunes truly could not have been possible with any other musical accompaniment.

Recording Area 52 was perhaps one of the smartest things that [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Rodrigo y Gabriela[/lastfm] could have done, especially at this point in their career. The fact that the record offers such strong, unforced new twists on songs that have been embedded in the hearts and minds of fans over the years will make Rod/Gab lovers of new and old fall in love with the band all over again. So give Area 52 a listen now and don’t be surprised if it makes 2012 a very special year for [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Rodrigo y Gabriela[/lastfm]!

The official track list for Area 52 is as follows:

  1. Santo Domingo (Originally on 11:11)
  2. Hanuman (Originally on 11:11)
  3. Ixtapa (Originally on Rodrigo y Gabriela)
  4. 11:11 (Originally on 11:11)
  5. Master Maqui (Originally on 11:11)
  6. Diablo Rojo (Originally on Rodrigo y Gabriela)
  7. Logos (Originally on 11:11)
  8. Juan Loco (Originally on Rodrigo y Gabriela)
  9. Tamacun (Originally on Rodrigo y Gabriela)

Get Area 52 now on Amazon & iTunes!

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.