Metallica’s Beyond Magnetic EP Finally Hits Stores

This past December was a very special one for thrash metal kings [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Metallica[/lastfm] as they marked their 30th anniversary as a band. To help celebrate and say thanks to the fans that have continued to support them throughout their illustrious career, the band treated members of their fan club to four intimate performances that featured a slew of special guests. But that wasn’t enough for the fearless foursome. They also gave fan club members a few unreleased tracks taken from early Death Magnetic sessions. The overwhelming amount of buzz led to a digital release via iTunes, and now the physical version is finally in stores as well so that fans around the globe can get a little dose of some unreleased ‘tallica.

[pullquote quote="These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they're being made available to you." credit="Metallica"]When the band began recording their 2x platinum album Death Magnetic in 2007, by the time the sessions were over they had recorded fourteen songs, but only chose to release ten for the album. Now, almost five years removed from those sessions, the songs have come out of the Metallivault and are seeing light on Beyond Magnetic. The songs are the original, unproduced compositions by the band, which is very cool from a longtime fans perspective because it’s quite rare for a band as big as [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Metallica[/lastfm] to give you a look into what one of their raw, untouched songs sound like. But while it is cool, be prepared for both the good things like mostly solid songwriting and bone crunching riffage, but also some not so stellar vocal moments that might make old school fans cringe a little. In their defense, the songs were recorded before producer Rick Rubin even came along, but thats just what will make the EP particularly intriguing for all the die-hards.

Click play below to check out a video the band posted with clips from the final night of the anniversary shows: 

The EP certainly has a ton of highlights, and has maybe just enough metal packed in to make fans forget about Lulu for a little while. Some of the EP’s best moments that old school fans are sure to love are found in some of the riffs in Just A Bullet Away. The song packs in some trademark licks that capture the classic sound of speed and intensity that the band had helped bring to the mainstream in the early 80′s. But arguably the biggest jaw-dropper is Rebel of Babylon, which would have been an amazing closing song on Death Magnetic. It has so many great elements that feel fresh and nostalgic at the same time that just makes you wonder exactly what set certain songs apart from others through the eyes of of the band.

The tracklist for the Beyond Magnetic EP is as follows:

  1. Hate Train
  2. Just A Bullet Away
  3. Hell And Back
  4. Rebel Of Babylon

Pick up the physical release in stores today or get the digital version now on iTunes!

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.