“Letters From War” – Watch Mark Schultz Perform Live, Songs From “Renaissance”

[pullquote quote="They were just scared kids writing home (from WWII). I thought 'Man, that needs to be a song'." credit="Mark Schultz, on 'Letters From War']American musicians have a long and proud history of supporting members of the US Armed Forces. From [lastfm]Bob Hope[/lastfm]‘s tours with the U.S.O. to last year’s VH1 Divas concert with [lastfm]Heart[/lastfm] and [lastfm]Grace Potter[/lastfm], stars of all stripes have pitched in to bring cheer to our soldiers stationed around the world. But few artists can claim to have touched the lives of our soldiers and their families as directly as [lastfm]Mark Schultz[/lastfm]. His song “Letters From War,” now a book by the same name, is a gripping story of lives lost and heroes made. Schultz performed the song recently at Street Date‘s studios, along with material from his new album Renaissance, and the performance is a must-see.

Mark Schultz Interview
[worldnow id=6294197 width=385 height=288 type=video]

Hit play below to watch Schultz perform “Letters From War,” the song that has touched so many people all across the globe, and spawned a book by the same name (for more on Schultz’s novel Letters From War, visit his website).

“Letters From War”
[worldnow id=6294200 width=385 height=288 type=video]

The next two songs appear on [lastfm]Mark Schultz[/lastfm]‘s new instrumental album Renaissance. Inspired by and recorded during a trek through Europe with his wife, the album’s songs relate closely to a places the couple spent time in during their journey. “Leaving Florence,” in particular, was directly inspired by their time in that city and the quiet beauty they observed. Renaissance was Schultz’s first foray into purely instrumental music and it’s an endeavor he’s immensely proud of.

“What It Means To Be Loved”
[worldnow id=6294203 width=385 height=288 type=video]

“Leaving Florence”
[worldnow id=6294193 width=385 height=288 type=video]

The full track listing for Renaissance is as follows:

1. Highlands
2. Road To Girona
3. Autumn
4. Normandy
5. Letters
6. Snow In Paris
7. Off The Map
8. Cathedrals
9. Leaving Florence
10. Coming Home

Grab a copy of Renaissance by [lastfm]Mark Schultz[/lastfm] today at this link.

This entry was posted in Music News, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.