Already A Star, American Idol’s Lauren Alaina Celebrates Huge “Wildflower” Debut: Interview

[pullquote quote="I'm trying to set an example for teenage girls, so I did my best to find songs that are relatable." credit="Lauren Alaina, on picking songs for 'Wildflower'"]
Country music just gained two new superstars, now that [lastfm]Scotty McCreerey[/lastfm] and [lastfm]Lauren Alaina[/lastfm] have graduated from American Idol and hit the radio airwaves with their debut albums. [lastfm]Lauren Alaina[/lastfm], still just 17 years old, is aware of her unique position as a teenager who’s now squarely in the spotlight. She is determined to be a good role model for girls her age, and that determination was a guiding principle as she recorded her first album Wildflower, which debuted at #2 on Billboard’s Country Albums chart. Click through for this charming interview with Alaina and find out what’s keeping her grounded as her star begins to take flight.

Lauren Alaina Interview
[worldnow id=6350461 width=385 height=288 type=video]

[pullquote quote="My mom quit her whole life and came to live with me in California. That song is my 'Thank You' to her." credit="Alaina, on 'Like My Mother Does'"]You couldn’t find a more genuine person if you tried. [lastfm]Lauren Alaina[/lastfm]‘s parents sure raised her right. She pays tribute to her mom and dad at every turn, including on the first single from Wildflower, called “Like My Mother Does.” The video features old family photos and footage of Alaina and her mother throughout the years. As she recounts in our interview, her mother dropped everything to move to Los Angeles after she made American Idol, and has been at her side every step of the way since.

[photogallerylink id=29040 align=left]On the left is our photo gallery from Lauren Alaina’s interview, take a look at those and then check out the lyrics to ‘Like My Mother Does’ here, but beware: these words will tug at your heartstrings.

[metrolyrics artist="Lauren Alaina" song="Like My Mother Does"]

[lastfm]Lauren Alaina[/lastfm]‘s debut album Wildflower is out now, look for it at iTunes and Amazon. The full track listing is as follows:

1. Georgia Peaches
2. Growing Her Wings
3. Tupelo
4. The Middle
5. Like My Mother Does
6. She’s A Wildflower
7. I’m Not One Of Them
8. The Locket
9. Eighteen Inches
10. One Of Those Boys
11. Funny Thing About Love
12. Dirt Road Prayer

This entry was posted in Music News, Videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.