Boris Yelstin’s Biggest Fans Release Career Spanning Compilation “Tape Club” Today.

Fret not Boris Yelstin, for a group of kids from Missouri still love you very much, and we’re all about to love them a whole lot too. The latest release from [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Someone Still Loves You Boris Yelstin[/lastfm] showcases the bands creative uses of dynamics paired with their ever-improving sublime approach to song writing making Tape Club an album that has the potential to be regarded as one of the most refreshing records of 2011.

Tape Club is a compilation of 26 unreleased songs, b-sides and rare recordings that span the bands entire decade long history together. After your first listen through Tape Club as a whole, one of the first things that is sure to strike you is the records diversity of sounds in not only each passing track, but within each one as well. Tape Club‘s multiplicity of sounds is its greatest strength ranging anywhere from subtle verses with a ton of heart reminiscent of artists like [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Elliott Smith[/lastfm] to catchy choruses and breaks that you’d hear on a [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Flaming Lips[/lastfm] record. You’ll find songs like “Lower The Gas Prices, Howard Johnson”, which has an undeniable old school [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Buddy Holly[/lastfm] feel but quickly evolves and packs an unexpected punch comparable to the dynamics of an artist like [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Silversun Pickups[/lastfm]. Click play below to check out a great live performance of “Heers” from the bands 2008 LP Perishing:

Another one of Tape Club‘s many strengths on display is the album’s masterful fluidity, which easily draws you in early on with no track ever seeming out of place. Tape Club‘s carefully planned transitions from track to track are the fuel behind what gives the record a knack for first bringing you down to a whole new (sometimes dark) emotional place with tracks like “Song W+Song L” and then slowly building you up with feel good songs like “We Can Win Missouri.” Tape Club is out today and is truly a unique musical experience that should not be missed by anyone who enjoys a refreshing new look at music. Click play below to watch the official music video for “Critical Drain” from 2010’s Let It Sway:

The track listing for [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Someone Still Loves You Boris Yelstin[/lastfm]‘s Tape Club is as follows:

01. The Clod and the Pebble
02. Let’s Get Tired
03. What’ll We Do (Demo)
04. Song W + Song L
05. Sweet Owl
06. Spinning Sea
07. Tin Floor 51
08. Lower the Gas Prices, Howard Johnson
09. Go Upstairs
10. Bigger Than Yr Yard
11. Half-Awake (Deb)
12. Not Worth Fighting
13. New Day
14. Coming Through
15. Dead Right (Wilmington Demo)
16. We Can Win Missouri
17. Same Speed
18. Cardinal Rules
19. Chili Cook-Off
20. Song 1000
21. Phantomwise (Demo)
22. Back in the Saddle (Demo)
23. Yellow Missing Signs
24. Letter Divine
25. Bended
26. Bastard of Rome

Tape Club is available today at Amazon & iTunes.

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.