Live & Acoustic: Rachael Yamagata Premiers “Starlight” From New Album “Chesapeake”

[pullquote quote="I'd jump from a moving train just to keep you. Would you do it for me?" credit="Rachael Yamagata, on 'Starlight'"][lastfm]Rachael Yamagata[/lastfm] is the kind of artist who creates songs seemingly plucked right out of the listener’s inner thoughts. She’s the kind of songwriter who finds lines that sound instantly familiar, as if last heard in a dream. The result is a body of work that is intimate and relatable, and even predictive, as if she is reading her audience’s mind. Yamagata’s newest work is the brilliant album Chesapeake, which comes with a backstory nearly as delicious as the songs themselves. Street Date hosted Yamagata and members of her band for an amazing acoustic performance of songs from the new album – click through to watch “Starlight” and find out more about this dynamic artist.

Since [lastfm]Bob Dylan[/lastfm] and [lastfm]The Band[/lastfm] did it in the 1960’s, there’s been a tradition in popular music that involves an artist and band retreating to a secluded location and working out songs that will eventually become a new album. [lastfm]Bon Iver[/lastfm] is a more recent example in a tradition that likely stretches back to [lastfm]Beethoven[/lastfm] and beyond. When penning the tunes that would eventually make up Chesapeake, [lastfm]Rachael Yamagata[/lastfm] didn’t necessarily have this history in mind, but she nonetheless ended up in a very similar situation.

Early in the summer of 2011 Yamagata retreated to producer John Alagia‘s waterfront home in Maryland facing the placid Chesapeake Bay. Friends and musicians were called in and recording sessions began, utilizing every room in the house plus a small tent city that popped up in the yard. Yamagata herself slept in a tent on the front lawn for the duration of the sessions, to make more room in the house for her players to sleep. Recordings were made at all times of day and no barriers were placed around anyone’s creativity. The resulting tunes are without a doubt some of her finest work to date, and they showcase the skill and commitment of each individual player.

Hit play to watch Rachael and friends perform “Starlight,” the first single off Chesapeake:
[worldnow id=6335358 width=385 height=288 type=video]

Bookmark this page and keep an eye out for three more incredible tunes from Rachael’s session at Street Date, coming soon.

The full track listing for Chesapeake is as follows:

1. Even If I Don’t
2. Starlight
3. Saturday Morning
4. You Won’t Let Me
5. Stick Around
6. Miles On a Car
7. The Way It Seems To Go
8. I Don’t Want To Be Your Mother
9. Full On
10. Dealbreaker

Grab a copy of [lastfm]Rachael Yamagata[/lastfm]‘s Chesapeake today at iTunes and Amazon.

This entry was posted in Music News, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Live & Acoustic: Rachael Yamagata Premiers “Starlight” From New Album “Chesapeake”

  1. Pingback: Rachael Yamagata’s New Take On Heartbreak In “Chesapeake”

Comments are closed.