Royce da 5’9″ Feels “Success Is Certain” With New Album


The career of [lastfm]Royce da ’59″[/lastfm] can best be described as a neverending struggle between success and setbacks. The title for his latest album, Success Is Certain, shows his dedication to keeping his career on the upside.

[lastfm]Royce da 5’9″[/lastfm] has been known in the hip hop world as one of the best underground lyricists to ever come out of Detroit since [lastfm]Eminem[/lastfm]. Royce and Em began their careers together as [lastfm]Bad Meets Evil[/lastfm], recording several mixtapes in pursuit of a record deal. After Eminem’s career erupted, Royce was left out of the hype leading to a breakup and eventual beef with Slim Shady.

After last year’s signing of Royce’s super group [lastfm]Slaughterhouse[/lastfm] to Eminem’s label, Shady Records, the duo has since resolved their issues and released an album together under the original band name Bad Meets Evil earlier this summer.

[lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Bad Meets Evil[/lastfm] – Fast Lane
[vevo]http://www.vevo.com/watch/bad-meets-evil/fast-lane/USUV71100957[/vevo]

Royce quickly followed the success of the Bad Meets Evil release with a solo effort, Success Is Certain. The album reflects a rejuvenated dedication to conquering the music industry and overcoming past obstacles, proving Royce as a force greater than Eminem’s shadow. The album features the likes of [lastfm]Travis Barker[/lastfm], [lastfm]Eminem[/lastfm] and [lastfm]Joe Budden[/lastfm] providing a rock and heavy lyrical influence. The album’s sound is very different from most of Royce’s work as he is even featured singing on a couple of tracks that seem almost experimental to say the least attempting to reach a wider demographic.

Not many tracks stick out as show stoppers but it’s always good to hear him and Eminem together with their track “Writer’s Block.” The duo bring the best out of each other, turning “Writer’s” a friendly competition.




[lastfm]Royce da 5’9″[/lastfm] – Success Is Certain (Gracie Productions)
Street Date: August 9th
iTunes | Amazon


Tracklist:
01 Legendary (feat. Travis Barker)
02 Writer’s Block (feat. Eminem)
03 Merry Go Round
04 Where My Money
05 ER (feat. Kid Vishis)
06 On The Boulevard (feat. Nottz & Adonis)
07 I Ain’t Coming Down
08 Security
09 Second Place
10 My Own Planet (feat. Joe Budden)
11 I’ve Been Up I’ve Been Down

About Ed Easton Jr.

I have had a great deal of radio and writing experience in sports media and I have an extensive background in radio production. I am currently the sports editor for my school's newspaper "The Catalyst" where I have been a member of for 3 years. I am also the Program Director for my school radio station "OWWR" Old Westbury Web Radio where I have been a member of for 3 years. My radio show "Keeping It Real Sports" is the longest running show on the station and I serve as host, producer, writer and engineer. I also created and run the website for the show http://www.keepingitrealsports.com along with the network channel for it "KIRSN" Keeping It Real Sports Network http://www.myspace.com/kirsnetwork. I work also as the Sports Analyst for the school television station "OWTV" Old Westbury Television during the news shows. I have worked briefly as a writer for the school's athletic web site http://www.oldwestburypanthers.com. In the fall of 2006, I worked as a Productions Assistant Intern at "SNYTV" Sports Net New York Television logging games and interviews for the New York Mets. I have also interned at 1010 WINS radio working under News Director Ben Mevorach reporting and writing articles for the station.
This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.