Q&A With Nick Carter of Backstreet Boys, New Solo Album Is Called “I’m Taking Off”


[pullquote quote="If you lie with dogs, you're gonna get fleas." credit="Nick Carter, in our exclusive interview"]After nearly nine-years in the making, Backstreet Boys‘ [lastfm]Nick Carter[/lastfm] returns with his sophomore album, I’m Taking Off, a record he calls his first real solo achievement. From the struggles of 2002′s Now or Never (“It just wasn’t me”) Carter has come a long way. He kicked his drug and alcohol addiction, went public with serious family drama on the reality show “House of Carters” and is now happily back to his boy band roots. “If you lie with dogs, you’re gonna get fleas,” Carter tells Street Date. “The biggest hurdle was cleaning house.”
Read on as Carter talks about laboring away on this summer’s NKOTBSB fusion tour, what it’s like to travel with eight other men and how boy-band mania has reached new levels of super-fandom.

SD: Your last record was 8 years ago. Tell us why you waited so long to get back into the studio for I’m Taking Off.
NC: I needed to take time to figure out who I am and what music I want to give to the world. I had to live life and gain experience so that I would have the material to put out a great album. I’m the best I have ever been. There was no better time than now to throw that energy out there.


SD: What kind of music were you listening to while recording this album? Were there any unlikely sources of inspiration?
NC: [lastfm]Men Without Hats[/lastfm] comes to mind. My playlists are constantly changing: one day I’ll be listening to [lastfm]Lloyd[/lastfm] or [lastfm]Fleetwood Mac[/lastfm]‘s Rumours. Depends on the day and the mood I’m in.

SD: I’m Taking Off feels a lot like an extension of your [lastfm]Backstreet Boys[/lastfm] days, whereas your first album was more about you as a solo artist. Was this intentional in a “back to your roots” sort of way?
NC: I feel as though this is really my first solo album. I’m Taking Off is more me than my first [album]. I didn’t know who I was or what I was doing back then. I love some of the songs but it just wasn’t me.

SD: Do you have a favorite track on the album?
NC: My favorite track is probably “Falling Down.” I love that song. When I sing it live, something takes over and it takes me to another place.

SD: You’re touring with Backstreet Boys and NKOTB this summer. Have you found that boy-band mania dies down as your audience gets older?
NC: Not at all! If anything, the mania is at an all new level now that fans from BSB and NKOTB have joined together. The only difference I can see is that they are a lot more respectful.

SD: As one of five children, it’s safe to say you’re used to dealing with many different personalities in close quarters — but what’s it like to travel with eight other men?
NC: We each have our own bus and some of the guys in NKOTB share theirs. We all get along great and give each other space when needed. Our riders have calmed down over the years, so nothing too crazy. For me, it’s all fresh fruits and vegetables so I can juice!

SD: This December marks the second Backstreet Boys cruise. What’s a typical day at sea like with you guys?
NC: There are no typical days on a BSB cruise! They are filled with activities and shows and tons of surprises! Playing Twister with 10 people was really funny. Rear ends and faces ended up way too close to one another.

SD: You’ve been very open about recovering from drug and alcohol addiction. What’s been the biggest hurdle?
NC: The biggest hurdle was cleaning house. I had to surround myself with happy, healthy, positive people. If you lie with dogs you’re gonna get fleas. I’m Taking Off was definitely cathartic. I was getting my feelings and emotions out as well as conquering some personal goals and achieving them.


SD: You’re a successful musician, you’ve acted in films and reality TV, there’s even footage of you multi-tasking in the kitchen: cooking and singing at the same time. What are some other things you want to try in your career?
NC: Right now I’m studying guitar. I want to be able to play like [lastfm]Prince[/lastfm] or [lastfm]John Lennon[/lastfm]. I’m also writing my own scripts.


SD: You’ve been in the industry since you were a kid – so you’ve had some really special celebrity experiences. Has there ever been a moment when you’ve gotten especially star-struck, or thought, “I can’t believe this is happening to me right now.”
NC: Celebrities I can handle. I would be star struck to meet people like Norman Vincent Peale or Albert Einstein. Intellectual people intrigue me.


[lastfm]Nick Carter[/lastfm]‘s new solo album I’m Taking Off is available now at Amazon and iTunes.

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Q&A With Nick Carter of Backstreet Boys, New Solo Album Is Called “I’m Taking Off”

  1. kimbo dumbo says:

    Like if u hate lauren as much as I do!! And like if u think she’s a fat whore :)

  2. Pingback: Free MP3 Of The Day: Nick Carter, “Falling In Love Again”

  3. Pingback: Free MP3 Of The Day: Nick Carter, “Falling In Love Again”

  4. Pingback: Free MP3 Of The Day: Nick Carter, “Falling In Love Again”

  5. Pingback: Free MP3 Of The Day: Nick Carter, “Falling In Love Again”

  6. amber farbo says:

    i have grown up listening to the backstreet boys since i was 14 years old… i have always loved their music and nick was always my fave (im a sucker for blone hair and blue eyes) its wonderful to see that he was able to get himself cleaned up and back on the right track. his voice matches him … he is a beautiful person and i wish that one day i could have the privilege of meeting him. i saw them in chicago once a few years ago at the jingle ball at the chicago theater and i have been aching to see them again ever since. im a mother of two and still listen to their music. i wish them all nothing but the best in the future

  7. Sandy says:

    I love Nick and his new album!

  8. Mallie says:

    Seriously, you guys are one big joke!!
    Don’t pose other people and make them look bad.. You’re pathetic..

    If you knew Kim you would see that she is truthfully a beautiful girl with an even more beautiful personality!! She supports Nick and Lauren! So do I and so do a lot of other people… GET A LIFE LIKE THE REST OF US!!

  9. Pingback: Entrevista com Nick Carter, novo álbum tem o nome de “I’m Taking Off” « BACKSTREETBOYS.COM.BR

  10. Nickfansince98 says:

    Wow, some of you Nick fans make me wish I weren’t one. Dear World: We’re not all that sad and pathetic and most of us respect his girlfriend and him. If you’re sitting here calling Nick a liar you sure as hell aren’t a FAN and if you are. you’re a very STUPID one.
    Nick is amazing and I love him forever.

  11. Pingback: Q&A With Nick Carter of Backstreet Boys, New Solo Album Is Called “I’m Taking Off” Read more: Q&A With Nick Carter of Backstreet Boys, New Solo Album Is Called “I’m Taking Off” « Nick Carter Central

  12. Pingback: .:: HOUSE OF CARTERS || Divided They've Fallen.....United They Stand a Chance ::.

  13. Pingback: Q&A With Nick Carter of Backstreet Boys, New Solo Album Is Called “I’m Taking Off” Read more: Q&A With Nick Carter of Backstreet Boys, New Solo Album Is Called “I’m Taking Off” http://streetdate.radio.com/2011/06/27/qa-with-nick-carter

  14. Pingback: .:: NICK CARTER @ INCOMPLETE-MEN.COM - YOUR BEST SOURCE FOR EVERYTHING NICK CARTER ::.

  15. sarah says:

    FOR GODS SAKE! do u girls really think that’s the right place to discuss Nick’s personal issues??? u’re ruining the interview article.Please,respect him as an artist.If u want to talk about his girlfriends or whatever do it but not here.

  16. FERNANDA CARTER OFFICIAL says:

    oh Nick my love I love youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

  17. courtney fuller says:

    nice to hear from Nick.he is a real neat dude.gotta get that new cd.

  18. bsb fan is nuts says:

    Kicked the habit???
    Do you have a blind fold on when you see nick in videos, pics, he is wasted?
    seriously know the facts before you call his assholes
    now u just look like the ass
    he lost weight sure did he kick his bad life style? hardly

  19. bsbfan says:

    you guys need to stop talking about his weight. If you noticed like 5+ years ago, he was on the heavy side because he was an alcoholic and drug user. People talked shit then cuz he big, and now that he is clean and sober and is in shape, everyone says he is to skinny. O.o you people don’t make sense, you so called fans should be happy that he finally kicked the habit and is probably in the best shape of his life. But no, some of you just like to be a**holes.

  20. vineetnove says:

    Loved the post! Loved the website as whole… Now a adays we hardly get to see any entertainment site which appreciates true singing tallents like the Backstreet Boys, who actually sing rather than adding digital stuffs and make it sound as if they are singing… the boys have always been making grat music… its just that, they don’t get the kind of appreciation from the media like they should. Instead, all of the attention flows towards non-deserving “so-called” singers…. Loved the interview… thank you and looking forward to such interviews of the boys and updates about their tour and upcoming album.

  21. Ashley says:

    I love Nick. His music is great, and he’s really nice. My brother who is an Eminem fan even said he enjoyed Nick’s album, and it should be played on the radio.

  22. Raven says:

    I love nick!!!!!

  23. Jeanne says:

    I personally think the interview was great! I’ve never been lucky enough to see him or the guys live but I love the music and Nick is a fantastic artist. I don’t understand why everyone has to call him an alcoholic. A.j. had a drinking problem and I didn’t see people bashing him like people are bashing Nick right now. Just because he is a celebrity doesn’t mean anything. He’s human! People make mistakes and they learn from them. The good thing is he is healthy now. I won’t go troll through all the hate comments because I’m not going to waste my time but I am a Backstreet Boys, Nick Carter, &, NKOTBSB fan. People need to quit bashing him and the guys. I really don’t care if this gets a lot of hate because I’m just saying what I feel. So many comments said “he doesn’t surround himself with positive people.” How the hell would you know? Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. Chances are you couldn’t live a day in their shoes. Don’t sit there and say “oh he’s an alcoholic because this video on youtube blah blah blah.” You can have a drinking problem and not be an alcoholic. With an alcoholic you have to have it 24/7 and you can’t function without it. Same with drugs. Stop dissing the man he’s EXTREMELY talented. Stop bashing Lauren too. I don’t see people bashing Brian or Howies wives or Ajs fiance. The man is happy. You would think if he’s happy his fans would be happy. But some of these people they are just well weird. If you are a Nick Carter, Backstreet Boys, NKOTBSB LOVER. if you want follow me on twitter. @x_jdogg_xktbspa I think Nick is an amazing singer/songwriter and his new album is AMAZING.

  24. Ali Lowe says:

    I got the CD @ the Nashville concert!!! It is great there is only one issue I have one song has this sound that is not really for the song!!! But I have listened to Nick & the boys for 18 yrs, I’m not dissapointed!!!

  25. Jen says:

    bahahaha how much do you want to bet the different comments made about Nick’s girlfriend Lauren are by the same person just using a different name each time they post. How effing pathetic, get a life! Oh beware, my lord, of jealousy; It is the green-ey’d monster, which doth mock the meat it feeds on. Can you say jealous of Lauren and dying to be in her shoes…get a clue Nick is happy and in a really good place right now. Great interview Nick, and I absolutely love I’m Taking Off, and hope a tour comes along with it!

  26. Marna says:

    cant believe this guy exists! Hes simply great! Enchanting voice, incredible talent!! Love him (and the boys as well!) so much!!

  27. Annie says:

    Its great to see someone who’s grown up in the music industry still be so grounded. You are an inspiration through your music and personal life. Thanks for all you have given over the years.

  28. Roxana says:

    Nick you’re doing a great job. Thank you for sharing your feelings and thoughts with us through your music which sounds really great. I love it. You’re a very good musician and I’m happy to see you happy. Looking forward to see you (and BSB) back in Europe. God bless you!

  29. Cheeky says:

    It’s great to know that Nick successfully cleaned his house with a new atmosphere and surroundings. I’m so very happy to see him happy. :) Also I think Now or Never was as good as I’m Taking Off in a way. I really loved some of the songs, too. (btw I went to all 6 NoN concerts in Jpn and 3 in the US! Awesome memories.) Keep up the great work, Nick. Always loving you no matter what! :)

  30. zahra says:

    Your previous album was really great… I haven’t heard this one but I believe its going to be awesome than now or never. You really are a great musician keep up the great work!!!!

  31. susan eisenberg says:

    NICK CARTER IS AWESOME ,THANKS FOR MAKING THE BEST CD EVER !

  32. susan eisenberg says:

    I love this album hes got a great singing voice Nick Carter u rock!!

  33. ray says:

    Lets see U do some concerts too!!!!

  34. ray says:

    Nick Carter is really AWESOME!!!! Nick, I thought Your first solo album was GREAT!!!! Really glad that both U, and bro Aaron are making new Music!!! U are both Awesome!!!! Is the New album gonna be in stores too????

  35. Natasha says:

    Can’t wait for the tour;););)

  36. musicfreak096 says:

    you know what shut your mouth. Kim isn’t fake. She is really nice, if your dumb to see that, then don’t comment. Honestly, grow up. Kim is super nice. You have no clue what the hell your talking about.
    So, go on and be a friggin’ 2 year old.

Comments are closed.