David Cook’s “This Loud Morning” Offers A Brand New Musical Day

More than two years after his debut CD, American Idol season seven winner [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]David Cook[/lastfm]  has released a new project that has reportedly been, according to Cook, “…the culmination of one of the loftiest endeavors I’ve ever undertaken.” This Loud Morning displays Cook’s talent and skill, led by lessons learned, family tragedy and experiences in life. Click through now to stream the entire album front-to-back.

Click here to listen to This Loud Morning

Although more than two million tracks and ringtones have been sold from the self-titled debut album, which was released in November 2008, Cook says that This Loud Morning is a truer display of  the music and thoughts that he is eager to share with everyone else.

Perhaps paying homage to an era of rock between 1995 and 1999, or a distinct for a rock sound, Cook perhaps channels the energy from such bands as [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Better Than Ezra[/lastfm] and [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Our Lady Peace[/lastfm] ; In the track “Time Marches On” , written by Cook and Marti Frederiksen , Cook seems to address the grief over his brother Adam’s death to cancer, laced with a true and rugged rock and roll platform…

With various and numerous references to falling skies, suns and stars, it would appear that Cook is looking for some escape from reality; it does, however show that his imagination runs rampant, just as his desire to connect with fans does.

After losing older brother Adam to cancer, Cook admits that life revealed a harsher side to it and simply appeared… louder: “The world around me got a little loud, so there were mornings where I woke up and it was just like, ‘OK, I just need to stay in bed and try again tomorrow,'” Cook recently told media outlets. Needless to say, the new project offers songs that refer to mental escape as well as self-revelation.

So on this newest project, one sees Cook retreating to his bed, in a matter of speaking to offer melodies that transfer to one another, relating to one another while giving a complete and focused musical message of endurance and sustainability.

With dream-inspired vision and undertakings, Cook gives this latest project a dream effect, while still staying grounded. For fans, Cook perhaps offers the notion that sometimes it is OK to stay in bed and leave productivity for another day. In one shape, form or fashion, that other day will present itself and one will have the chance again to summon power, drive and dreams.

Here is the full track listing for This Loud Morning:
1. Circadian
2. Right Here, With You
3. We Believe
4. Fade Into Me
5. Hard To Believe
6. Take Me As I Am
7. Time Marches On
8. The Last Goodbye
9. Paper Heart
10. 4 Letter Word
11. Goodbye To The Girl
12. Rapid Eye Movement

[lastfm link_type="artist_info"]David Cook[/lastfm]‘s This Loud Morning is available now at Amazon and iTunes.

About C.C.

Radio On-air personality and digital content editor for CBS Houston!
This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to David Cook’s “This Loud Morning” Offers A Brand New Musical Day

  1. safroniamay says:

    Of all the recent and many write ups on Dave Cook’s new album, “This Loud Morning”, I think this one is the best! Thanks.

  2. jayelgee1 says:

    This is a very well considered review with a clear understanding of what David intended on this album. Now that we have it, we know what a spectacular work of art it is. You totally “get” David and his immense talent. thanks.

  3. Ewolf.girl says:

    I’ve been listening to this album non-stop for over a week. A long time coming, it was so worth the wait! David took his time to craft a compilation of songs that have lots of musical depth, emotion and meaning. Proud to call myself a fan!

  4. Kelly B. says:

    Nice article. I LOVE this album by David. It’s amazing, beautiful, and unique!

  5. Pingback: Music – click the artist and song name for a free listen | Innovations Digest

  6. latinalovesrock says:

    I’m literally counting the minutes now to download at midnight from iTunes and finally understand all the buzz surrounding David Cook’s latest masterpiece. No, I haven’t listened yet, I want to listen to the high-quality version of this album. Thanks for respecting his amazing talent in a radio world full of auto tuning and artificial sounds and lyrics.

Comments are closed.