Stream Avril Lavigne’s New Album, ‘Goodbye Lullaby’ and Watch the “What the Hell” Music Video!

It was at the age of 17 that [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Avril Lavigne[/lastfm] first pushed through to the top of the pop-punk music scene with her first hit single “Complicated” from her debut album, Let Go. Now, nine years later, Lavigne getting ready to release her fourth album, Goodbye Lullaby, on March 8, 2011.

Click here now to stream “Goodbye Lullaby”

We get to hear a softer side of Lavigne on this album; she has grown up and moved on from “Sk8er Boi.” Goodbye Lullaby is overflowing with ballads written or co-written by Lavigne. “I allowed myself to be vulnerable. I think it’s during the real moments that people can relate the most,” Lavigne confessed about the motivation behind her new album.

It’s clear to us that Lavigne has been through a lot in the last couple of years that have lead up to the delayed release of Goodbye Lullaby, most importantly, her divorce from [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Sum 41[/lastfm]‘s Deryck Whibley. However, Lavigne was able to channel her sorrows into a creative endeavor in the studio.

“Overall, the album is about how we all go through difficult experiences, whether it’s ending a relationship, losing a job, or just missing someone.” Lavigne says in her official website, “We get through it and we grow.” Lavigne brought an orchestra of musicians to the studio (quite literally) in songs like “Everybody Hurts” and “Goodbye” in order to translate her pain into something everyone can relate to. Music.

Thankfully, Lavigne delivers a couple up-beat tracks (yeah, as in two songs). Her lead single, “What the Hell” and the fun let-loose rock track “Simle,” remind us of the old school (okay, didn’t mean to make you feel old. It’s not “old school”… yet) Lavigne tunes like “Sk8er Boi” and “Girlfriend”.

Check out Avril Lavigne’s music video for “What the Hell.” It’s fun to play the game “Count the Product Placements”. It’s fun! One of them is her clothing line.


You also don’t want to miss out on the extended version of “Alice” from the Tim Burton motion picture, Alice In Wonderland. The haunting drum beats found in this track adds to the varied sounds that are delivered to us from this album.

Let’s be real though, Lavigne is a talented vocalist who works her edgy-punker-chick persona, but this album does kind of remind us of a [lastfm link_type="artist_info"]Taylor Swift[/lastfm] record that got lost in a mosh pit. You don’t agree? They both started their music careers before they could vote. Lavigne, at least on this album, either wrote ot co-wrote all her songs. Something T-Swift has been known for from the beginning. And they’re both blonde. Duh.

Here is the full track list for Goodbye Lullaby:
1. Black Star
2. What the Hell
3. Push
4. Wish You Were Here
5. Smile
6. Stop Standing There
7. I Love You
8. Everybody Hurts
9. Not Enough
10. For Real
11. Darlin’
12. Remember When
13. Goodbye
14. Alice (extended version/hidden track)

Grab Avril Lavigne’s Goodbye Lullaby album on iTunes or Amazon, available March 8, 2011.

About Natalie Gordon

CBS Interactive Music Group Intern!
This entry was posted in Music News, Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stream Avril Lavigne’s New Album, ‘Goodbye Lullaby’ and Watch the “What the Hell” Music Video!

  1. Pingback: New Tunes @9 – March 21, 2011

  2. Pingback: New Tunes @9 – March 18, 2011

  3. Pingback: New Tunes @9 – March 17, 2011

  4. courtney l. s. says:

    omgizzle! AVRIL is my hero! i think shes o awesome! I NEED her new album! she’s so wicked =]

  5. Jeffery Leftwich says:

    I cant relate to Avril so much and her music really touches my heart and the album with the track Nobody’s home tells my life as the music video plays but the video What the hell is awsome and all Avril music is unique just as herself

  6. billy j.guerra says:

    Avril your the most bad-ass chick that looks totally hot and very beutiful. I would love to meet you anywhere?SAN ANTONIO,TEXAS78210. UR NOT MARRIED YET R-U?

  7. Richard Notaro says:

    SB 5.26.7:

Comments are closed.