A Skylit Drive Scorches Valentines Everywhere With New Record, ‘Identity On Fire’

Photo Credit: Fearless Music

Post-hardcore outfit [lastfm]A Skylit Drive[/lastfm] probably aren't going to celebrate Valentine's Day with flowers, fancy dinners, and over-indulgent Hallmark cards. Instead, the six-piece from Lodi, California will celebrate the florist's favorite holiday anticipating their third full length release, Identity on Fire, a work that shuns the cutesy gloss of the holiday in lieu of heartbroken screams and defiant fist pumps. A work that showcases a fine marriage of emocore and pop, fans of [lastfm]Thursday[/lastfm] and [lastfm]Underoath[/lastfm] take heed: there’s a new band on the scene to scream your V-Day blues.

According to lead singer and frontman Michael “Jag” Jagmin, Identity on Fire concerns “setting fire to the things you don’t want and don’t need…creating your own identity, and being who you want to be.” In what the band considers their most mature release to date, the 12-track LP from Fearless Music is a non-stop battle with both sides of emotion, the endearing and the agressive. The blazing double-time drums and wall of sound guitars don’t let up, pummeling the listener with a ferocity befit of [lastfm]Slipknot[/lastfm]‘s 2004 release, Vol. 3 (The Subliminal Verses). The interplay of Jag‘s melodies and bassist Brian White‘s screams provide a vocal dynamicism that’ll keep you singing along with equal parts angst and rapture.

Identity on Fire represents the first release [lastfm]A Skylit Drive[/lastfm] wrote and recorded with a full-time producer, and the music is all the better for it. Cameron Webb ([lastfm]30 Seconds to Mars[/lastfm], [lastfm]Flyleaf[/lastfm], [lastfm]Motorhead[/lastfm]) helped blend the band’s aggressive sounds with catchy hooks, creating a balance of heavy and poppy many groups try and write, but rarely succeed. Identity on Fire‘s first single, ‘Too Little, Too Late,’ is a great example of this balance, as the song moves from sing-a-long hooks to enscorched vocals, backed with a tight machine gun rhythm section and the occasional electronic flourish that cumulates into a tight track ready to melt your earbuds. The precision aggro-pop production Webb is known for carries each track to another level, in particular ‘Ex Marks the Spot’ and ‘XO Skeleton,’ both fiery songs that burst through the speakers with so much life, the sound becomes almost physical. It grabs you, slaps you across the face and makes sure as hell you’re paying attention.

A Skylit Drive - Identity On Fire

1. Carry the Broken
2. Too Little Too Late
3. XO Skeleton
4. Conscience Is Not a Killer
5. Ex Marks the Spot
6. The Cali Buds
7. Your Mistake
8. Fuck the System
9. 500 Days of Bummer
10. Tempt Me, Temptation
11. Identity on Fire
12. If You Lived Here You’d Be Home

Identity On Fire is out February 15th and available from iTunes and Amazon.

This entry was posted in Music News, Videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.