Keeping The Dead Alive: Kreutzmann, Hunter Release New Album As ‘7 Walkers’

[pullquote quote="I feel the pain of others, a blessing and a curse." credit="words by Robert Hunter"]
[lastfm]Bill Kreutzmann[/lastfm] is an original member of the [lastfm]Grateful Dead[/lastfm]. In the early 1960’s he picked up his drum sticks and hopped on the same brightly-colored bus that drove bandmates [lastfm]Jerry Garcia[/lastfm], [lastfm]Bob Weir[/lastfm], and [lastfm]Phil Lesh[/lastfm] to infamy as rock ‘n roll’s great improvisational pranksters. Though 40 years have passed since those early beginnings, and 15 years Garcia’s passing, Kreutzmann still hears the call of his muse and is driven to create new music. His new work is a group, and album, called 7 Walkers and it features a very special member – Dead lyricist [lastfm]Robert Hunter[/lastfm] – the same man who wrote some of that group’s most iconic songs.

The Kreutzmann/Hunter collaboration is the heart of this new project, but the players that Kreutzmann lined up to participate provide the soul. New Orleans voodoo-funk master [lastfm]Papa Mali[/lastfm] handles guitar and vocals as the band’s frontman, multi-instrumentalist [lastfm]Matt Hubbard[/lastfm] contributes keys and guitars, and the legendary bass man [lastfm]George Porter, Jr.[/lastfm] of [lastfm]The Meters[/lastfm] holds down the low notes. An impressive lineup, to be sure.

As with any Dead-related lineup, the real magic happens up on that stage. [lastfm]7 Walkers[/lastfm] have played a number of shows already in 2010, and right now are in the middle of a big coast-to-coast fall swing. Hit up their tour page to see when they’re hitting your town. For a look at their stage setup, check out this recent video from their main stage set at the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival. Here are the [lastfm]7 Walkers[/lastfm] performing a hardy one-two punch of “7 Walkers” into “Turn On Your Lovelight” – hit play and enjoy.

Here’s the full track listing for 7 Walkers:
1. WYAT Radio / Cane River Waltz
2. Sue From Bogalusa
3. King Cotton Blues
4. (For The Love Of) Mr. Okra
5. Chingo!
6. Louisana Rain
7. Someday You’ll See (Prelude)
8. New Orleans Crawl
9. Evangeline
10. He Bo Diddle
11. Airline Highway
12. Someday You’ll See
13. 7 Walkers

If you like what you hear, check out 7 Walkers available now at Amazon and direct at Bill Kreutzmann’s web store.

This entry was posted in Music News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.